Addon Release: SQL Search Alpha 3

All new Coranto Addons, updates and patches to addons, will be released here...also, get support for addons within!

Moderators: Spunkmeyer, Dale Ray, SrNupsen, Bluetooth, Jackanape

Addon Release: SQL Search Alpha 3

Postby bozoka45 » Sun Apr 17, 2005 12:44 am

The point of this addon is to improve the Modify News page for people using the CorantoSQL addon. If you're an advanced user of SQL and now SQL search commands, this feature could be very helpful to you. A link is created on the regular modify news page, and a user simply has to enter the SQL command into the textarea to achieve results.

This addon is an alpha version, so I expect bugs and you should expect improvement.

Download here

Current Version: 1.0.1
Last edited by bozoka45 on Tue Jan 29, 2008 7:24 pm, edited 5 times in total.
User avatar
bozoka45
 
Posts: 1159
Joined: Sun Mar 23, 2003 8:38 pm
Location: New Orleans

how

Postby YushDon » Sun Apr 17, 2005 9:47 am

Hi there

I've downloaded it, installed it the usual (i.e. uploaded it into coranto.cgi directory, enabled it then clicked Administrator link, etc), but I do not see it in the list of mods under Administration. Neither does there seem to be any document with it.

How do we use it?
YushDon
 
Posts: 88
Joined: Mon Jan 22, 2007 11:33 pm
Location: London

Postby bozoka45 » Sun Apr 17, 2005 5:03 pm

Look on the modify news page and there is a link to SQL Search at the top.

There won't be any docs for a while, its an alpha release.
User avatar
bozoka45
 
Posts: 1159
Joined: Sun Mar 23, 2003 8:38 pm
Location: New Orleans

dah dum!

Postby YushDon » Sun Apr 17, 2005 6:06 pm

Indeed there is! Thanks for that!

This has great potential and it looks like you've done a lot of work on it already. Just a couple of suggestions, things I'm wondering, etc. which I hope will help you to improve to the mod...

1) Which field is the search taking its information from? From the Text, Subject or CustomField? At the moment it does not matter what I put in it keeps coming up with "No items could be found" which is strange considering I've got over 10,000 items in the database I was looking at.

2) Would it be possible to have a drop down list or at least the option of being able to pick which field the search criteria is taken from?

Nuff niceness
YushDon
 
Posts: 88
Joined: Mon Jan 22, 2007 11:33 pm
Location: London

Postby bozoka45 » Sun Apr 17, 2005 6:20 pm

The point of this addon is to avoid drop down lists and give the user complete control of which news items are displayed.

SELECT * FROM `tablename`

The star mean that all fields are loaded, which is necessary. The part where you specify values is the Where clause. Read up here. Using a WHERE clause, you can join statements with AND and OR to make one giant statement and get exactly the news items you want.
User avatar
bozoka45
 
Posts: 1159
Joined: Sun Mar 23, 2003 8:38 pm
Location: New Orleans

mine!

Postby YushDon » Sun Apr 17, 2005 8:54 pm

My misunderstanding!

Since I am more familiar with using mySQL with php I realised afterwards that I could type SQL commands directly into the box and create the query/ies that I wanted.

Thanks for clearing up things also!
YushDon
 
Posts: 88
Joined: Mon Jan 22, 2007 11:33 pm
Location: London

Postby bozoka45 » Fri Apr 22, 2005 8:41 pm

Alright, just released alpha 2, the download link is the same.

Here are the changes:

Added "Previous Page" button opposite the "Next Page" button when looking at more search results.

The number of results are now returned.

There is no "Next Page" button when there is no "Next Page" (same thing for Previous Page button).

For security reasons, only the SuperAdmin can access the page. If anyone
needs this fixed, please let me know.

Ideas for the future:

Allow user to specify database.
Allow admins to specify who has access.
User avatar
bozoka45
 
Posts: 1159
Joined: Sun Mar 23, 2003 8:38 pm
Location: New Orleans

Postby bozoka45 » Sat Apr 23, 2005 2:05 am

I've made a new release, Alpha 3. Download link is the same.

Delete news now works perfectly, it wasn't working in Alpha 2.
User avatar
bozoka45
 
Posts: 1159
Joined: Sun Mar 23, 2003 8:38 pm
Location: New Orleans

Postby bozoka45 » Fri Dec 16, 2005 7:24 am

Just fixed a tiny bug in the SQL when using the "Previous Page" feature on the search.
User avatar
bozoka45
 
Posts: 1159
Joined: Sun Mar 23, 2003 8:38 pm
Location: New Orleans

Postby Gianni » Tue Jan 29, 2008 9:53 am

does anyone have this sql search addon?
The above link is not working anymore.
Gianni
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Sat Oct 27, 2007 8:35 am

Postby bozoka45 » Tue Jan 29, 2008 7:25 pm

Gianni wrote:does anyone have this sql search addon?
The above link is not working anymore.


Wow, lucky I had a very old backup of that file stored somewhere. Obviously no one's tried to use this addon in a while. I've fixed the download link.
User avatar
bozoka45
 
Posts: 1159
Joined: Sun Mar 23, 2003 8:38 pm
Location: New Orleans

Postby Gianni » Wed Jan 30, 2008 10:00 am

Thanks, i hope this is the latest version fixed!
while you restore links, all the links in your signature (your addons) don't work anymore....
Gianni
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Sat Oct 27, 2007 8:35 am


Return to Addon Release and Support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests

cron