cra_backup.pl

Archive of notes and cross input on Dev versions of Coranto (1.25.1 and Older)

Moderators: Dale Ray, SrNupsen, Bluetooth, Jackanape

cra_backup.pl

Postby SrNupsen » Sat Jan 13, 2007 9:58 pm

According to Parahead, the included cra_backup addon is not working, and in my opinion we should remove it.

I noted that in the changelog for 1.25, and removed cra_backup.pl from the package. There is always the MoveIt! addon for those who want backup possibilities, and in the future we could consider brushing up the MoveIt! addon and making it part of the official release.

Any objections?
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Coranto is free software. I am available for custom work or troubleshooting.

http://www.sundaune.no - transkripsjon, webdesign, nettsider, tekstbyrå
http://www.vagbladet.no - satire, politikk, kultur, sport, nettavis
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
SrNupsen
 
Posts: 2229
Joined: Tue Jan 09, 2007 6:46 pm
Location: Nesodden, outside Oslo, Norway

Re: cra_backup.pl

Postby Parahead » Sat Jan 13, 2007 10:04 pm

SrNupsen wrote:According to Parahead, the included cra_backup addon is not working, and in my opinion we should remove it.
Or fix it? ;-) Don't remember exactly what it was that made it malfunction, but think it was easy to remedy...

SrNupsen wrote:I noted that in the changelog for 1.25, and removed cra_backup.pl from the package. There is always the MoveIt! addon for those who want backup possibilities, and in the future we could consider brushing up the MoveIt! addon and making it part of the official release.

Any objections?
The Moveit! addon was created by cerberos76, don't think you will get his approval to do any kind of update to make it work with the new folder structure in 1.31.x
Yes, I am still around...
www.parahead.com/coranto/
User avatar
Parahead
 
Posts: 4837
Joined: Fri Jan 12, 2007 8:54 pm
Location: Stockholm - Sweden

Postby SrNupsen » Sat Jan 13, 2007 10:06 pm

Good point. I forgot cerberos was behind the MoveIt addon.

Well, in that case I vote for fixing cra_backup.pl - we could also offer a simple shell script copying necessary files to a folder of the user's choice. Or soemthing.

As I read your mail again I started doubting: Does cra_backup.pl work work with 1.24?
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Coranto is free software. I am available for custom work or troubleshooting.

http://www.sundaune.no - transkripsjon, webdesign, nettsider, tekstbyrå
http://www.vagbladet.no - satire, politikk, kultur, sport, nettavis
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
SrNupsen
 
Posts: 2229
Joined: Tue Jan 09, 2007 6:46 pm
Location: Nesodden, outside Oslo, Norway

Postby Parahead » Sat Jan 13, 2007 10:10 pm

SrNupsen wrote:As I read your mail again I started doubting: Does cra_backup.pl work work with 1.24?
Yes, it does, it only fails for 1.31.x. I *think* it was such a simple problem as me forgetting to use the new folders but I am not sure... There is a forum thread about this at CTUS.
Yes, I am still around...
www.parahead.com/coranto/
User avatar
Parahead
 
Posts: 4837
Joined: Fri Jan 12, 2007 8:54 pm
Location: Stockholm - Sweden

Postby Lumberjack » Sat Jan 13, 2007 10:32 pm

The backup addon only backs up newsdat according to its features. It would be good to include nsettings.cgi in the backup, and perhaps a few others. The backup should also be stored in a folder called backup, I found that to be the easiest place to restore a backup from. I'll check out that backup addon to see what I can make of it.

EDIT: it uses this:
Code: Select all
$CConfig{'htmlfile_path'}

And possibly should use:
Code: Select all
$CConfig{'data_path'}
Lumberjack
 
Posts: 555
Joined: Wed Jan 10, 2007 7:22 pm
Location: Oxford, UK

Postby Lumberjack » Sat Jan 13, 2007 11:25 pm

Yes, that gets it to work. For debugging, I've done this:
Code: Select all
#$BackupTime = 60 * 60 * 24 * 7; # The frequency of backups, in seconds.
$BackupTime = 60;
Lumberjack
 
Posts: 555
Joined: Wed Jan 10, 2007 7:22 pm
Location: Oxford, UK

Postby Parahead » Sun Jan 14, 2007 9:02 am

Lumberjack wrote:The backup addon only backs up newsdat according to its features. It would be good to include nsettings.cgi in the backup, and perhaps a few others.
I agree, this was one of the things on the TODO-list for that addon.
Yes, I am still around...
www.parahead.com/coranto/
User avatar
Parahead
 
Posts: 4837
Joined: Fri Jan 12, 2007 8:54 pm
Location: Stockholm - Sweden

Postby Lumberjack » Sun Jan 14, 2007 12:45 pm

As its not essential to the core programming, I'll add it to the "down the line" part of the roadmap.
Lumberjack
 
Posts: 555
Joined: Wed Jan 10, 2007 7:22 pm
Location: Oxford, UK

Postby Musicvid » Mon Jan 22, 2007 2:41 am

Made the changes suggested and now have backup files.
One question: Should backups also be triggered by a "Build News" action in addition to an Edit or Add event action if allowed by the $BackupTime variable? Seems to make sense.
Musicvid
 
Posts: 138
Joined: Wed Jan 17, 2007 1:05 am
Location: Western America

Postby Lumberjack » Mon Jan 22, 2007 9:21 am

No, not for newsdat.txt. See my answer in the other place you posted this.
Lumberjack
 
Posts: 555
Joined: Wed Jan 10, 2007 7:22 pm
Location: Oxford, UK


Return to Coranto Development Archives -- 1.25.1 and Older

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

cron