background on news posts? and another Q :p

Archive of notes and cross input on Dev versions of Coranto (1.25.1 and Older)

Moderators: Dale Ray, SrNupsen, Bluetooth, Jackanape

background on news posts? and another Q :p

Postby Pimpin Joe » Fri May 31, 2002 2:10 pm

Hello,

I am kinda new to the whole website design mumbo jumbo and am in need of some help :p

I am useing newspro ( i know this is the coranto forums but i see a lot of mentioning of newspro here and the programs are almos the same )

but ne ways i need some help on putting a background behind each news post and i have a few quetions about doing this

1.How would i go about installing this

2. how do i get the back ground to stretch with the size of the news post ?

and my last question has nuthing to do with the first ... where can i get a addon to have headlines for my news posts ?

oh my site is http://www.furioustech.com if neone needs to look at it to help me better lol :D

Thanx, Joe
I am hopeless :( .............. J/K!:p
Pimpin Joe
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri May 31, 2002 1:57 pm

Postby msbzdragn » Fri May 31, 2002 4:48 pm

We *have* a NewsPro forum. Your post has been moved there...
Michael R. Tomkins
Administrator, 'Unofficial Coranto / NewsPro Forums'

Mitsubishi Diamante Forum

Do NOT send me instant messages asking for Coranto help without me telling you explicitly to do so. You WILL be placed on ignore if you do so; I don't have time to provide personal tech support to every person who IM's me. Sorry!
User avatar
msbzdragn
 
Posts: 2397
Joined: Mon Mar 11, 2002 4:51 pm
Location: Oak Ridge, TN

Postby LoneOwl » Fri May 31, 2002 6:43 pm

Firstly, Newspro and Coranto are very different.

Secondly, this cannot be done via an addon or such thing. It must be done in the style.

Thirdly, the only proper way to do such a thing is using css which isn't always fully supported by Netscape or Internet Explorer. I personally use iCab, one of it not the best browser on the market, and mac only.

Find a css tutorial, and look into the tables section. Under <td> or however it's formatted, it should have something like...
Code: Select all
td {
    background: url([url]http://yoursite.com/images/img.png[/url]);
}

It may not have that. Also you don't want to use a direct reference like that. Go for something more like....
Code: Select all
<style type="text/css">
.tdWithBg {
    background: url([url]http://yoursite.com/images/img.png[/url]);
}
</style>
</head>
....
....
<td class="tdWithBg">
...
...
</html>

You may encounter some browser compatability issues though.

If you can't understand all that(even though I memorized it!), well....stick to the basics for now.
User avatar
LoneOwl
 
Posts: 1465
Joined: Sun Mar 10, 2002 2:57 am
Location: That one place, you know?

Postby BillGates » Fri May 31, 2002 8:19 pm

or you can use html
Code: Select all
<td background="http://www.site.com/bg.gif">
BillGates
 
Posts: 205
Joined: Mon Mar 11, 2002 8:43 pm

Postby MasterVivi » Fri May 31, 2002 8:25 pm

<table width="100%" cellpadding="0" cellspacing="0">
<tr>
<td width="100%" align="left" valign="top" background="URLTOBACKGROUND">
Your style info here.
</td>
</tr>
</table>


The background will continue to repeat itself if the size of the bg is to small. So make sure that the background is the right size for your news, and your set. You cannot set specific perimiters in the table cell though.
Don't worry about the world ending today, it's tomorrow in Australia :)
User avatar
MasterVivi
 
Posts: 218
Joined: Sun Apr 07, 2002 12:22 am
Location: Over the Rainbow


Return to Coranto Development Archives -- 1.25.1 and Older

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron