New Server - Admin Can't Login

Is Coranto not working properly for you? Here's where to ask for support help; for best results, follow these steps:
  • - Check your core/addon documentation for possible solutions
  • - Search these forums for similar problems that have already been solved
  • - If you're still stumped, check out THIS TOPIC, and post your question in this forum!!

Moderators: Spunkmeyer, Dale Ray, SrNupsen, Bluetooth, Jackanape

New Server - Admin Can't Login

Postby Joe268 » Mon Sep 25, 2006 2:53 pm

Hi All,

I am looking for some help if possible.

I bought a site that runs on Coranto and had my current host move to my server several months ago.

Today was actually the first time that I tried to log in to the site after the move and find that the password that I used before doesn't work. Also, the images on the login page are also missing - just blank screen with login box and text.

I am not technically minded and would ask anyone willing to get this back online to contact me via PM and I can pay for your time.

Thanks in advance,
Joe
Joe268
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Sep 25, 2006 2:42 pm

Postby SrNupsen » Tue Sep 26, 2006 2:16 pm

The file nsettings.cgi is missing or corrupt (this is the file that holds the settings and the CSS).

If you have done a proper backup, try deleting nsettings.cgi and renaming nsbk.cgi to nsettings.cgi.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Coranto is free software. I am available for custom work or troubleshooting.

http://www.sundaune.no - transkripsjon, webdesign, nettsider, tekstbyrå
http://www.vagbladet.no - satire, politikk, kultur, sport, nettavis
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
SrNupsen
 
Posts: 2229
Joined: Tue Jan 09, 2007 6:46 pm
Location: Nesodden, outside Oslo, Norway

Postby Joe268 » Wed Sep 27, 2006 12:37 pm

Thank you!

Worked a treat.

However, now when I post news I get a server internal error. I need to go to the news item and change the read/write from 666 to 755. Do you know which file that I should change for this to be done automatically?

Thanks for the help!
Joe268
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Sep 25, 2006 2:42 pm

Postby SrNupsen » Wed Sep 27, 2006 2:25 pm

Do you get the internal server error when you actually submit the new news item, or when you try viewing/reading it? Parahead made an addon called "chmod", available here, which allows you to control the permissions of files output by normal profiles.

Is this what you're after?
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Coranto is free software. I am available for custom work or troubleshooting.

http://www.sundaune.no - transkripsjon, webdesign, nettsider, tekstbyrå
http://www.vagbladet.no - satire, politikk, kultur, sport, nettavis
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
SrNupsen
 
Posts: 2229
Joined: Tue Jan 09, 2007 6:46 pm
Location: Nesodden, outside Oslo, Norway

Postby Parahead » Wed Sep 27, 2006 5:43 pm

Joe268 wrote:I need to go to the news item and change the read/write from 666 to 755. Do you know which file that I should change for this to be done automatically?
The chmod addon SrNupsen mentions should do the trick, but you could also talk to your host about changing the umask for your user. Take a look at this thread for some more info on that topic...
Yes, I am still around...
www.parahead.com/coranto/
User avatar
Parahead
 
Posts: 4837
Joined: Fri Jan 12, 2007 8:54 pm
Location: Stockholm - Sweden


Return to Troubleshooting

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron