Am I missing the point or just thick??

Is Coranto not working properly for you? Here's where to ask for support help; for best results, follow these steps:
  • - Check your core/addon documentation for possible solutions
  • - Search these forums for similar problems that have already been solved
  • - If you're still stumped, check out THIS TOPIC, and post your question in this forum!!

Moderators: Spunkmeyer, Dale Ray, SrNupsen, Bluetooth, Jackanape

Postby SrNupsen » Tue Oct 03, 2006 8:23 pm

Aw, come on Henrik :D

Semantically speaking, the phrase "Replace {maginot_news} (including the curly brackets) with the actual name of a Maginot Static Profile" can just as well be interpreted as "Replace {maginot_news} with the actual name of a Maginot Static Profile, but keep the curly brackets".

Dunno. Just felt like arguing.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Coranto is free software. I am available for custom work or troubleshooting.

http://www.sundaune.no - transkripsjon, webdesign, nettsider, tekstbyrå
http://www.vagbladet.no - satire, politikk, kultur, sport, nettavis
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
SrNupsen
 
Posts: 2229
Joined: Tue Jan 09, 2007 6:46 pm
Location: Nesodden, outside Oslo, Norway

Postby ukracer » Tue Oct 03, 2006 10:18 pm

SrNupsen wrote:Aw, come on Henrik :D

Semantically speaking, the phrase "Replace {maginot_news} (including the curly brackets) with the actual name of a Maginot Static Profile" can just as well be interpreted as "Replace {maginot_news} with the actual name of a Maginot Static Profile, but keep the curly brackets".

Dunno. Just felt like arguing.


You are 100% correct as that WAS how I read it the first time. I always go off and try things and then Re read it if I get problems. It was then that i realised parahead meant remove the curly brackets. Once I did this coranto or maginot line (not sure which one) then told me as i tried to build the news I had something wrong. I then saw the URL it was calling just had a space in it and I manged to locate that quite quickly.

until I got closer to getting it right I got no errors generated.

But I did actually read what was written.

Thanks to you all for your time.
ukracer
 
Posts: 20
Joined: Sun Jan 02, 2005 10:06 pm

Postby SrNupsen » Wed Oct 04, 2006 7:27 am

No problem. Come again if you run into more trouble :)

SrNupsen
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Coranto is free software. I am available for custom work or troubleshooting.

http://www.sundaune.no - transkripsjon, webdesign, nettsider, tekstbyrå
http://www.vagbladet.no - satire, politikk, kultur, sport, nettavis
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
SrNupsen
 
Posts: 2229
Joined: Tue Jan 09, 2007 6:46 pm
Location: Nesodden, outside Oslo, Norway

Postby Parahead » Wed Oct 04, 2006 8:35 pm

SrNupsen wrote:Semantically speaking, the phrase "Replace {maginot_news} (including the curly brackets) with the actual name of a Maginot Static Profile" can just as well be interpreted as "Replace {maginot_news} with the actual name of a Maginot Static Profile, but keep the curly brackets".

Dunno. Just felt like arguing.
I agree, bad phrasing on my part, I am used to get jumped for my bad language... :lol: But at least I did provide some sort of answer, I truly hope I am not the only one that could have? And to be honest, the Maginot addon documentation which I refered to and ukracer claimed he had read does not include any curly brackets what so ever to begin with, so...

ukracer wrote:until I got closer to getting it right I got no errors generated.
Since we are discussing things, I would say that is not an entirly true statement, the link example you have shown us did produce 404's, right? And if you look closer, they didn't work because they hadn't been parsed (replaced) when the style was saved, which was the problem (caused by the curly brackets). At least that gave me enough information to know what you had done wrong...

Of course one could continue arguing and say that Maginot should give you a warning when a malformed MaginotURL tag is used in a style. Yes, I agree, that would be a good feature, feel free to implement it... :roll:
Yes, I am still around...
www.parahead.com/coranto/
User avatar
Parahead
 
Posts: 4837
Joined: Fri Jan 12, 2007 8:54 pm
Location: Stockholm - Sweden

Postby SrNupsen » Wed Oct 04, 2006 8:46 pm

So... Anybody up for a beer?

*BUUUUUUUUUUUUUUURP*
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Coranto is free software. I am available for custom work or troubleshooting.

http://www.sundaune.no - transkripsjon, webdesign, nettsider, tekstbyrå
http://www.vagbladet.no - satire, politikk, kultur, sport, nettavis
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
SrNupsen
 
Posts: 2229
Joined: Tue Jan 09, 2007 6:46 pm
Location: Nesodden, outside Oslo, Norway

Postby ukracer » Wed Oct 18, 2006 7:33 pm

SrNupsen wrote:So... Anybody up for a beer?

*BUUUUUUUUUUUUUUURP*


If you have all finsihed your beers. Lol

Thanks for the help so far I now have some things running and can almost see what does what. One thing I am not sure about is what controls the font, colour , size etc of the headlines?

I can see the code......<strong><a href="<MaginotURL: maginotnews>"><Field: Subject></a></strong> -- <Field: Month_Name> <Field: Month_Day>, <Field: Hour>:<Field: Minute> <Field: AMPM><br>


and I am guessing its this code that controls the look and style but really need confirming the direction we are taking is the right one.

IS there a fools guide that spells it out in VERY simple terms what each section of the configuration of coranto actually does??

Thanks in advnace.
ukracer
 
Posts: 20
Joined: Sun Jan 02, 2005 10:06 pm

Postby SrNupsen » Wed Oct 18, 2006 11:20 pm

Coranto does not control the layout of your site - you have to do that yourself by putting in the appropriate HTML/CSS code. So, let's say you want your headline in header style 1, then the post date in bold letters and the text in a justified block. Then you'd do something like this:

Code: Select all
<h1><Field: Subject</h1>
<b><Field: Month_Name> <Field: Month_Day>, <Field: Hour>:<Field: Minute> <Field: AMPM></b><br />
<div style="text-align: justify;"><Field: Text></div>


Notice how:

1. Everything starting with <Field: blah is Coranto "internal code", meaning you want to insert that particular piece of your news item here.
2. Everything else is a mixture of HTML (the <b>, <h1> tags etc.) and CSS (the "div style" part).


1 + 2 = great flexibility on how to present your news! All that Coranto does, is fill in the different fields where you want them. Note that there are plenty of other date fields / options available if you want, say, to display your date in a different format.

SrNupsen
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Coranto is free software. I am available for custom work or troubleshooting.

http://www.sundaune.no - transkripsjon, webdesign, nettsider, tekstbyrå
http://www.vagbladet.no - satire, politikk, kultur, sport, nettavis
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
SrNupsen
 
Posts: 2229
Joined: Tue Jan 09, 2007 6:46 pm
Location: Nesodden, outside Oslo, Norway

Previous

Return to Troubleshooting

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 1 guest

cron