Custom news fields

Is Coranto not working properly for you? Here's where to ask for support help; for best results, follow these steps:
  • - Check your core/addon documentation for possible solutions
  • - Search these forums for similar problems that have already been solved
  • - If you're still stumped, check out THIS TOPIC, and post your question in this forum!!

Moderators: Spunkmeyer, Dale Ray, SrNupsen, Bluetooth, Jackanape

Custom news fields

Postby MrQwest » Fri May 19, 2006 3:15 pm

Hello there... Hoping for a little bit of help quickly.

Basically, i want a custom image to appear next to each news item posted on a specific catagory. Now i thought i could create a custom news field which is where the image URL would be input. (CustomField_newsimg)

Then i went into News Styles, and edited the news style for the correct catagory. I input the HTML for an image so that it looked like this:

<img src=<Field: CustomField_newsimg>>

So in theory, when Coranto parses the above, it will include the image URL in place of the <Field...> tag, so in theory, it should work.... But it doesn't.

Coranto is, for some reason, parsing the image URL as a link to the image. Which is then creating a broken image. Here is a copy of the HTML Source...

<img src="%3Ca" href="http://emmafeline.com/gallery/albums/userpics/10001/thumb_felinelogo2.gif">http://emmafeline.com/gallery/albums/userpics/10001/thumb_felinelogo2.gif align=left&gt;

Now i went into the Coranto settings and disabled the parsing of URL's, and i also went into the Custom news field and disabled parsing of links there too, but it's still taking the image URL and trying to link to it rather than showing the image.

does anyone have any idea why this would be doing it?

Cheers :)
MrQwest
 
Posts: 21
Joined: Tue Mar 01, 2005 2:23 pm

Postby MrQwest » Fri May 19, 2006 3:51 pm

Ignore me now :).. For some reason, it appears to work now haha!.. typical! :)
MrQwest
 
Posts: 21
Joined: Tue Mar 01, 2005 2:23 pm

Postby Astradyne » Wed May 31, 2006 11:57 pm

Hi

I know you've got it working, but as a heads up for anybody else reading the thread I had a similar problem.

The solution I found was to disable the parsing of URLs as the orignal poster did, and then in the news style to have:

<a href="http://<Field: CustomField_URL>">Link</a>

It seemed that specifying "http://" inside the CustomField caused the URL to be parsed regardless.

Hope it helps

Jonathan
Astradyne
 
Posts: 36
Joined: Wed Jan 10, 2007 4:17 pm
Location: Cheshire, UK


Return to Troubleshooting

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests

cron