iSay help needed

Is Coranto not working properly for you? Here's where to ask for support help; for best results, follow these steps:
  • - Check your core/addon documentation for possible solutions
  • - Search these forums for similar problems that have already been solved
  • - If you're still stumped, check out THIS TOPIC, and post your question in this forum!!

Moderators: Spunkmeyer, Dale Ray, SrNupsen, Bluetooth, Jackanape

iSay help needed

Postby Hrvoje » Fri May 04, 2007 1:38 am

I use maginot static profiles which creates my full story link as www.fifa08online.com/articles/TitleOfTheStory.php

However, when i click on comment(0) it shows result as Error: Specified ID does not exist.

Help anyone!
Hrvoje
 
Posts: 182
Joined: Thu Mar 22, 2007 12:35 pm

Re: iSay help needed

Postby Parahead » Sat May 05, 2007 7:41 pm

Hrvoje wrote:I use maginot static profiles which creates my full story link as www.fifa08online.com/articles/TitleOfTheStory.php
The URL above does not exist, hard to locate what the problem is then... Are you using id or ID when passing the newsid to iSay? Try the opposite...
Yes, I am still around...
www.parahead.com/coranto/
User avatar
Parahead
 
Posts: 4837
Joined: Fri Jan 12, 2007 8:54 pm
Location: Stockholm - Sweden

Re: iSay help needed

Postby Hrvoje » Sun May 06, 2007 12:54 am

Parahead wrote:
Hrvoje wrote:I use maginot static profiles which creates my full story link as www.fifa08online.com/articles/TitleOfTheStory.php
The URL above does not exist, hard to locate what the problem is then... Are you using id or ID when passing the newsid to iSay? Try the opposite...
it was just an example... title... anyway i tried all and it doesent work!
Hrvoje
 
Posts: 182
Joined: Thu Mar 22, 2007 12:35 pm

Re: iSay help needed

Postby Parahead » Sun May 06, 2007 8:09 pm

Hrvoje wrote:it was just an example... title... anyway i tried all and it doesent work!
I understood that it was an example. Give a working URL where you are calling iSay and also, provide the URL to iSay.
Yes, I am still around...
www.parahead.com/coranto/
User avatar
Parahead
 
Posts: 4837
Joined: Fri Jan 12, 2007 8:54 pm
Location: Stockholm - Sweden

Postby Hrvoje » Sun May 06, 2007 9:36 pm

this is the code i use
Code: Select all
<i><font face="Arial" size="2" color="#999999">
<Field: Date>, <Field: Hour>:<Field: Minute>:<Field: Second></font></i><br />
<a href="http://www.fifa08online.com/articles/<MaginotFile: news08>"><img src="<Field: CustomField_thumb>" hspace="5" vspace="5" border="0" align="left" class="tablica"></a><a href="http://www.fifa08online.com/articles/<MaginotFile: news08>" class="naslov">
<Field: Subject></a><br />
<font face="Arial" size="2" color="#000000"><Snip 500: Field: Text></snip></font><i> <a href="http://www.fifa08online.com/articles/<MaginotFile: news08>" class="opsirnije">Read More</a></i><br><img src="smede.gif" width="425" height="1"><a href="http://www.fifa08online.com/cgi-bin/news/iSay.cgi?Page=Comments&ID=<Field: newsid>">Comments (<script language="javascript" src="http://www.fifa08online.com/cgi-bin/news/iSay_GetCommentCount.cgi?ID=<Field: newsid>&js"></script>)</a>
<br><br>


click on any title it will link you to full story, also at the bottom is Comments (0) link...
Hrvoje
 
Posts: 182
Joined: Thu Mar 22, 2007 12:35 pm

Postby Hrvoje » Sun May 06, 2007 9:41 pm

i also tried with php include
Code: Select all
<i><font face="Arial" size="2" color="#999999">
<Field: Date>, <Field: Hour>:<Field: Minute>:<Field: Second></font></i><br />
<a href="http://www.fifa08online.com/articles/<MaginotFile: news08>"><img src="<Field: CustomField_thumb>" hspace="5" vspace="5" border="0" align="left" class="tablica"></a><a href="http://www.fifa08online.com/articles/<MaginotFile: news08>" class="naslov">
<Field: Subject></a><br />
<font face="Arial" size="2" color="#000000"><Snip 500: Field: Text></snip></font><i> <a href="http://www.fifa08online.com/articles/<MaginotFile: news08>" class="opsirnije">Read More</a></i><br><img src="smede.gif" width="425" height="1"><a href="http://www.fifa08online.com/cgi-bin/news/iSay.cgi?Page=Comments&ID=<Field: newsid>">Comments (<script language="javascript" src="http://www.fifa08online.com/cgi-bin/news/iSay_GetCommentCount.cgi?ID=<Field: newsid>&js"></script>)</a>
<br><br>


and it still says Error: Specified ID does not exist.
Hrvoje
 
Posts: 182
Joined: Thu Mar 22, 2007 12:35 pm

Postby Spunkmeyer » Mon May 07, 2007 7:02 pm

I logged in with the info you gave me Hrvoje, and fixed your problem. You didn't fill out the abs paths for $AbsolutePath, $crcfg, $newsdat and $SettingsFile in iSay.cgi.

Not to rain on your site design or anything (in fact, i quite like it), but you should really make the site interoperable. The majority of surfers use IE, not Firefox. keep that in mind. So when you design a page just for Firefox, you're pretty much telling the majority of your potential visitors to f**k off. Just a thought.
"God Bless the Portable Grassy Knoll"
Spunkmeyer
 
Posts: 69
Joined: Wed Jan 10, 2007 4:36 pm
Location: Whistler, BC, Canada

Postby Hrvoje » Mon May 07, 2007 7:56 pm

Spunkmeyer wrote:I logged in with the info you gave me Hrvoje, and fixed your problem. You didn't fill out the abs paths for $AbsolutePath, $crcfg, $newsdat and $SettingsFile in iSay.cgi.

Not to rain on your site design or anything (in fact, i quite like it), but you should really make the site interoperable. The majority of surfers use IE, not Firefox. keep that in mind. So when you design a page just for Firefox, you're pretty much telling the majority of your potential visitors to f**k off. Just a thought.
thank you SO MUCH

still while browsing index.php even when i add comments, they are displayed indees, but on main page it says Comments (0)... how to fix this?
Hrvoje
 
Posts: 182
Joined: Thu Mar 22, 2007 12:35 pm

Postby Spunkmeyer » Mon May 07, 2007 8:25 pm

Well, in the iSay settings, you can start by changing the "Optional" settings to what they should be set at. You have nothing in there, so that will help.

Secondly, the link for showing the amount of comments (using php), should look like

Code: Select all
(<?php include('http://www.advocatusdiaboli.ca/comments/counter/iSayCommentCount_<Field: newsid>.txt'); ?>)
,

not

Code: Select all
<?php include("http://www.fifa08online.com/cgi-bin/news/iSay_GetCommentCount.cgi?ID=<Field: newsid>"); ?>


All of this is explained in the iSay documentation - make sure to read it
"God Bless the Portable Grassy Knoll"
Spunkmeyer
 
Posts: 69
Joined: Wed Jan 10, 2007 4:36 pm
Location: Whistler, BC, Canada

Postby Hrvoje » Mon May 07, 2007 8:36 pm

Spunkmeyer wrote:Well, in the iSay settings, you can start by changing the "Optional" settings to what they should be set at. You have nothing in there, so that will help.

Secondly, the link for showing the amount of comments (using php), should look like

Code: Select all
(<?php include('http://www.advocatusdiaboli.ca/comments/counter/iSayCommentCount_<Field: newsid>.txt'); ?>)
,

not

Code: Select all
<?php include("http://www.fifa08online.com/cgi-bin/news/iSay_GetCommentCount.cgi?ID=<Field: newsid>"); ?>


All of this is explained in the iSay documentation - make sure to read it


Thank you so much, problem RESOLVED !
Hrvoje
 
Posts: 182
Joined: Thu Mar 22, 2007 12:35 pm


Return to Troubleshooting

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests

cron