Problem with installation

Is Coranto not working properly for you? Here's where to ask for support help; for best results, follow these steps:
  • - Check your core/addon documentation for possible solutions
  • - Search these forums for similar problems that have already been solved
  • - If you're still stumped, check out THIS TOPIC, and post your question in this forum!!

Moderators: Spunkmeyer, Dale Ray, SrNupsen, Bluetooth, Jackanape

Problem with installation

Postby Grantdovey » Tue Apr 10, 2007 2:50 am

A few nights ago I decided to use Coranto on one of the websites I design and haven't had any success so far.

I switched my operating system from Windows to Linux and multiple times I have followed to documentation word-for-word. I have CHMOD all the files that I need to and have gotten my absolute paths and Perl 5 paths from GoDaddy.

When I go to /cgi/coranto/coranto.cgi I get this message:
Internal Server Error
The server encountered an internal error or misconfiguration and was unable to complete your request.

Please contact the server administrator, support@supportwebsite.com and inform them of the time the error occurred, and anything you might have done that may have caused the error.

More information about this error may be available in the server error log.

Apache/1.3.33 Server at www.dtowneastbasketball.com Port 80

Can anyone help?
Grantdovey
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Apr 10, 2007 2:46 am
Location: Downingtown, Pennsylvania

Postby SrNupsen » Tue Apr 10, 2007 8:55 am

Check the error log and post here what it says. Also, Parahead has a good round-up here.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Coranto is free software. I am available for custom work or troubleshooting.

http://www.sundaune.no - transkripsjon, webdesign, nettsider, tekstbyrå
http://www.vagbladet.no - satire, politikk, kultur, sport, nettavis
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
SrNupsen
 
Posts: 2229
Joined: Tue Jan 09, 2007 6:46 pm
Location: Nesodden, outside Oslo, Norway

Postby Lumberjack » Tue Apr 10, 2007 2:46 pm

Internal server error is the worst to diagnose, but usually it means that the server doesn't have the correct permissions to run the script. Try chmodding the files to 777, and if this works, one by one chmod the files to what the setup instructions say.
Alternatively, if you have access to run a chown command, just change the ownership of all coranto's files to match your webservers owner name.
Lumberjack
 
Posts: 555
Joined: Wed Jan 10, 2007 7:22 pm
Location: Oxford, UK

Postby Spunkmeyer » Tue Apr 10, 2007 4:37 pm

In my experience installing Coranto, this error is either something that has been chmodded incorrectly, or alternatively, you uploaded files using "auto-detect" or "binary" when you should have uploaded in "ascii". Double check that this isnt the case.
"God Bless the Portable Grassy Knoll"
Spunkmeyer
 
Posts: 69
Joined: Wed Jan 10, 2007 4:36 pm
Location: Whistler, BC, Canada

Postby Grantdovey » Wed Apr 11, 2007 2:58 am

Thank you for all of your suggestions. I have tried all of them and I still have not come up with any solution.
Grantdovey
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Apr 10, 2007 2:46 am
Location: Downingtown, Pennsylvania

Postby Spunkmeyer » Wed Apr 11, 2007 3:33 am

I assume you have permission to execute cgi scripts on your server? Double check with your sys admin.
"God Bless the Portable Grassy Knoll"
Spunkmeyer
 
Posts: 69
Joined: Wed Jan 10, 2007 4:36 pm
Location: Whistler, BC, Canada

Postby Grantdovey » Wed Apr 11, 2007 10:58 am

Yes, I just switched my server from Windows to allow me to do that.
Grantdovey
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Apr 10, 2007 2:46 am
Location: Downingtown, Pennsylvania

Postby SrNupsen » Wed Apr 11, 2007 1:24 pm

So what does your server's error log say?
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Coranto is free software. I am available for custom work or troubleshooting.

http://www.sundaune.no - transkripsjon, webdesign, nettsider, tekstbyrå
http://www.vagbladet.no - satire, politikk, kultur, sport, nettavis
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
SrNupsen
 
Posts: 2229
Joined: Tue Jan 09, 2007 6:46 pm
Location: Nesodden, outside Oslo, Norway

Postby Spunkmeyer » Thu Apr 12, 2007 4:29 am

You could always try adding
Code: Select all
 
Options +ExecCGI
AddHandler cgi-script cgi pl

to the dir in question's .htaccess file?

keepin mind that "AllowOverride Options" and "AllowOverride FileInfo" must both be in effect for these directives to have any effect.

(Im running Apache (Fedora) by the way)

Be warned though, any screwups are you're own fault :P
"God Bless the Portable Grassy Knoll"
Spunkmeyer
 
Posts: 69
Joined: Wed Jan 10, 2007 4:36 pm
Location: Whistler, BC, Canada

Postby Musicvid » Thu Apr 12, 2007 5:06 am

Do a search in the archive forums for GoDaddy
There is lots of discussion about their script hosting issues for you to look at there.
Musicvid
 
Posts: 138
Joined: Wed Jan 17, 2007 1:05 am
Location: Western America


Return to Troubleshooting

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron