Page 1 of 1

I got my Coranto all messed up

PostPosted: Wed Jun 25, 2008 3:17 pm
by Acura2g
Ok... here is a list of my problems

my viewnews.cgi doesn't display anything even though I have a lot of news posted.

I can't get my headlines to link because of it.

and my last problem is I can't get seperate news files to create for each of my articles.

any insight would be very appreciated.

PostPosted: Wed Jun 25, 2008 7:40 pm
by Dale Ray
This sounds like a permissions problem.

Make sure that viewnews.cgi is executable. Make sure the folder (directory) you are writing news to is writable.

PostPosted: Thu Jun 26, 2008 3:30 am
by Acura2g
Its executable because it I can pull it up, it just states there is nothing in there for news.

PostPosted: Thu Jun 26, 2008 5:22 am
by Dale Ray
Is this:
Error: No news items meet those criteria

the error you receive?

I looked at viewnews.cgi and do not find that text in the file. How is this error message being generated? Have you made modifications to viewnews.cgi?

What version of Coranto are you using? I see by the URLs on your site your Coranto install is in a directory named Newspro.

What does your style and template look like?

Have you tried specifying the absolute path in viewnews.cgi?

PostPosted: Thu Jun 26, 2008 11:20 am
by Acura2g
That is the message i'm getting.

no modifications to viewnews.cgi except the section you can touch (top part).

news.txt is in the main site directory

I'm running hte latest version of coranto. The reason its in newspro is thats what I used to run for news then I switched and upgraded to coranto when they did the change some time back.

The style template is the original one, I haven't touched it yet.

The path is correct in the viewnews.cgi

Should I delete everything and start over?

PostPosted: Thu Jun 26, 2008 3:35 pm
by Dale Ray
By latest version I am assuming 1.25.1 not one of the betas. Is this correct?

I just double checked the viewnews.cgi that is included with Coranto 125.1 and that error message is not in the file anywhere. This means that something else is interacting with viewnews to produce that error text.

Try replacing the viewnews.cgi file with one freshly extracted from the archive. Do not edit anything in the file and see what happens when you call it.

PostPosted: Fri Jun 27, 2008 2:26 am
by Acura2g
yes. 1.25.1

I uploaded a fresh viewnews.cgi from the packet and only change the abspath and url path and uploaded and chmod to 755.

Still getting an error message.


I uploaded another version into
http://www.2ndgen.info/cgi-bin/news/coranto.cgi

and the viewnews.cgi isn't working there either.

PostPosted: Fri Jun 27, 2008 2:49 am
by Pirate Elf
Acura2g wrote:yes. 1.25.1
and the viewnews.cgi isn't working there either.


define not working because I just tested your link and viewnews works fine:

http://www.2ndgen.info/cgi-bin/news/viewnews.cgi

It works fine but I had no variables to pass to it. What are you attempting?

to do a headline you would need something like this in your style:

Code: Select all
Headlines are awesome here are some:
<a href="http://www.2ndgen.info/cgi-bin/news/viewnews.cgi?id=<Field: newsid>&tmpl=SomeTemplate"><Field: Subject></a>
<br>


Personally I don't use viewnews for headlines and use something like this:
Code: Select all
<a href="http://www.yoursite.com/CorantoPath/ProfileX.shtml<ItemAnchor>" target="_top"><Snip 9: Field: Subject></a><br>

PostPosted: Fri Jun 27, 2008 3:23 am
by Dale Ray
http://www.2ndgen.info/cgi-bin/Newspro/ ... pufmvpFeCS

The url listed above is working fine. I got the newsid from the comments link on your front page.

Note that id is in lowercase - uppercase will not work.

This was not working yesterday when I tried the same thing.

This may not be the style you want, but it shows that viewnews.cgi is not the problem.

BTW - when I said not to edit anything in the viewnews,cgi file you uploaded I meant to NOT enter the absolute path. In my experience Coranto seldom needs for this to be done and they are entered incorrectly many times.

PostPosted: Fri Jun 27, 2008 3:26 am
by Pirate Elf
Dale Ray wrote:In my experience Coranto seldom needs for this to be done and they are entered incorrectly many times.


True that. Unless it really gives you a problem there really isn't a reason to toy with viewnews

PostPosted: Fri Jun 27, 2008 12:23 pm
by Acura2g
Ok I see now that it works.

So I can use the viewnews.cgi(newsid) to do headlines to full articles right?

There is no way to have coranto create a seperate html page for each article is there? I tried message with that addon miagnet or something and never was able to produce that.

Thank you for your help.

PostPosted: Fri Jun 27, 2008 1:35 pm
by Jackanape
Acura2g wrote:There is no way to have coranto create a seperate html page for each article is there? I tried message with that addon miagnet or something and never was able to produce that.

Maginot is the way to do this, but your profiles need to be Maginot profiles for it to work. A search of the forums will give you better individual instructions for Maginot.

PostPosted: Fri Jun 27, 2008 1:49 pm
by Acura2g
Search I will do. Thanks