Testing Posters IP Address

Discuss news styles, css code, and other Coranto customizations in here...the possibilities are endless, so have at it!

Moderator: Spunkmeyer

Testing Posters IP Address

Postby Astradyne » Sat Jun 24, 2006 1:52 am

Hi

I'm using Guestpost to allow items to be posted on the website to a "non-approved" category and wanted to put together some code that would check the IP address of the poster, and if it was within my network address range then automatically change the Category to it's approved equivalent and build the news.

Although I'm not a Perl programmer, I have been programming in business for over 20 years and figured I could work something out by creating an Addon and hooking in to the SaveNews_Pre hook.

The code I came up with for the addon, or at least the current incarnation of it, is:

Code: Select all
#! CRADDON 1
#! NAME UserExits
#! DESCRIPTION Exit point processing for various hooks
#! VERSION 1

# Identify the Addon to Coranto...

my $addon = new Addon('UsrExits');

# Hook into the various exit points...

$addon->hook('SaveNews_Pre', 'UsrExits_AutoPromote');

###############
# SUBROUTINES #
###############

sub UsrExits_AutoPromote {

# If a guest posting has been made from inside the local network, then
  # automatically promote (approve) the post...

if ($in{'uname'} eq 'guest_links') {

$_ = $ENV{'REMOTE_ADDR'};
    if (/192\.168\.0/) {

if ($in{'Category'} eq "guest_kids") {
        $in{'Category'} = "kids_links";
      }
      elsif ($in{'Category'} eq "guest_link") {
        $in{'Category'} = "Links";
      }
      elsif ($in{'Category'} eq "guest_download") {
        $in{'Category'} = "downloads";
      }
    }
  }

}

# End of Addon source...
1;

I'm posting from a PC with an IP address of 192.168.0.122 which I would expect to be picked up by the regular expression check, and then the $Category variable would get changed.