Assigning numbers to headlines for news ticker

Discuss news styles, css code, and other Coranto customizations in here...the possibilities are endless, so have at it!

Moderator: Spunkmeyer

Assigning numbers to headlines for news ticker

Postby Esstee » Fri Jun 03, 2005 1:15 pm

I need to produce a specific output.txt file which in turn is called
by a new ticker on my site.

The news ticker looks for specific formating within the .txt file to
identify and format the output.

it looks something like this:

Code: Select all
&text1=Official iRC server online! irc.ourserver.com:6667 #oursite
&date1=04/05/2005

&text2=Support forums in need of your help, we need content CAD'ers!
&date2=04/05/2005

&text3=Heavy modifications under way, hang in there!
&date3=04/05/2005


I was thinking of designing a template to produce this under a specific
category but I'm stuck on the numbering... Does anyone know how to
get a number system in Coranto?
I went deeper into the belly of Coranto and look! I found maginot.
User avatar
Esstee
 
Posts: 320
Joined: Thu Nov 25, 2004 4:13 pm
Location: Deep in some project

Postby Esstee » Fri Jun 03, 2005 1:40 pm

I found this:

http://coranto.org/forum/viewtopic.php? ... =numbering

it works for the most part but it seems to put a space at the begining
of each entry and no linbreak between them, otherwise its pretty close! :D

heres the output:
Code: Select all
&text1=yet another internal news test
&date1=Friday, June 3 2005
&text2=this is a test of the merge feature
&date2=Friday, June 3 2005
I went deeper into the belly of Coranto and look! I found maginot.
User avatar
Esstee
 
Posts: 320
Joined: Thu Nov 25, 2004 4:13 pm
Location: Deep in some project

Postby Dale Ray » Fri Jun 03, 2005 3:46 pm

Dale Ray
User avatar
Dale Ray
 
Posts: 1001
Joined: Sun Jan 19, 2003 6:02 pm
Location: NW Indiana

Postby Esstee » Sat Jun 04, 2005 4:54 am

Dale Ray

I did not find anything relevant in that page to my quest for numbering
but there was a good bit of information on cgi that I was happy to read
about though :)

btw. I solved my problem, found a way to get it all working the way
I needed thx for the input though every bit helps :wink:
I went deeper into the belly of Coranto and look! I found maginot.
User avatar
Esstee
 
Posts: 320
Joined: Thu Nov 25, 2004 4:13 pm
Location: Deep in some project

Postby Parahead » Sat Jun 04, 2005 8:02 am

Esstee wrote:btw. I solved my problem, found a way to get it all working the way
I needed thx for the input though every bit helps :wink:
And the solution was? Please give a brief summary back to the community after you have solved your problem(s), maybe others can learn from it? This goes for a lot of people asking questions around here... ;-)
Yes, I am still around...
www.parahead.com/coranto/
User avatar
Parahead
 
Posts: 4837
Joined: Fri Jan 12, 2007 8:54 pm
Location: Stockholm - Sweden


Return to Customization

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

cron