Is it possible to call on Field content marked between tags?

Discuss news styles, css code, and other Coranto customizations in here...the possibilities are endless, so have at it!

Moderator: Spunkmeyer

Is it possible to call on Field content marked between tags?

Postby Esstee » Wed Jun 01, 2005 8:44 pm

As my newsroom project nears the 40% completion mark.
I find myself continuesly rewinding and re-designing my Corranto structure
to simplify news entry for my submitters and hopefully improve server
performance as our content builds under normal loads.


As it is I have 4 criteria's or "fields" if you will, that I rely on to draw my context
from and display.

1) Subject
2) Summary
3) Teaser
4) Content

I have merged teaser and Content together by use of the snip code
and so I am left with 3 fields on my news submissions page. But today
as i was creating the profiles for my industry news teaser strip I had an
idea...

What if, there was a way to TAG text within the main news and then pull
that data or text and place it in certain area's of the news page.

If this were possible it would be that my news submitters could write the
story, highlight a segment or sextioon of the text and click a button and
that section would be used as the "Summary" in the published document.

The same could be done for the "teaser" as well, and in doing so we could
write and publish everything in one single story and select which area's of
the story would be used for whatever news regions.

I don't know how clear this is but if it's not then I would gladly create some
visual screens to get the message accross. I don't know if anything like this
exists yet, it could fall under a term I am not famillar with or something but
if it doesn't exist, something like this would be a feature I would gladly pay
to create as an addon for Coranto.
User avatar
Esstee
 
Posts: 320
Joined: Thu Nov 25, 2004 4:13 pm
Location: Deep in some project

Re: Is it possible to call on Field content marked between t

Postby Parahead » Thu Jun 02, 2005 6:49 pm

Esstee wrote:What if, there was a way to TAG text within the main news and then pull that data or text and place it in certain area's of the news page.
Take a look at this thread which explains how you can use BBCodes like the code-tag to mark up a section. It should be possible to tweak that approach to do what you want... Well, it doesn´t address the highlighting of a text in the textarea and apply the tags, but you could manually place them around the sections you want.
Yes, I am still around...
www.parahead.com/coranto/
User avatar
Parahead
 
Posts: 4837
Joined: Fri Jan 12, 2007 8:54 pm
Location: Stockholm - Sweden


Return to Customization

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests

cron