viewnews.tmpl

Discuss news styles, css code, and other Coranto customizations in here...the possibilities are endless, so have at it!

Moderator: Spunkmeyer

viewnews.tmpl

Postby blue » Sun Mar 10, 2002 11:00 pm

How would I put custom fields in the viewnews.tmpl? Is that possible? For example. I want the <Field: CustomField_Category> in the title, but it doesn't work. I'm assuming that means I need to make a seperate .tmpl file for each category. Thanks for the new forums and the help.
blue
 
Posts: 17
Joined: Sun Mar 10, 2002 10:57 pm

Put it in the style

Postby pmulcahy » Sun Mar 10, 2002 11:27 pm

Any fields you want to use should be put in the style. In the templates, you can only put <Field: Title> and <Field: Content>.

That said, I think viewnews doesn't recognize custom fields. But I think coranto.sardonica.net has a fixed version that does.
User avatar
pmulcahy
 
Posts: 157
Joined: Sat Mar 09, 2002 10:51 pm
Location: Illinois

Postby AeroSoul » Sun Mar 10, 2002 11:28 pm

You need to download the updated viewnews.cgi.

"This is a fixed version of viewnews.cgi, which addresses the UserField's issue"

get it here
Keep the dream alive!
User avatar
AeroSoul
 
Posts: 562
Joined: Sat Mar 09, 2002 10:30 pm
Location: Toronto, Canada

Thanks

Postby blue » Mon Mar 11, 2002 12:33 pm

I'm actually not using viewnews.cgi for my news articles - I'm using Maginot. Is there any way for custom fields to be used in Maginot?
blue
 
Posts: 17
Joined: Sun Mar 10, 2002 10:57 pm

Maginot and custom fields

Postby pmulcahy » Mon Mar 11, 2002 12:46 pm

Well, sure, that's not a problem. Again, all custom fields have to be in the style, Maginot doesn't do anything to them on its own. So set up the style as you like it, and Maginot will be happy. :)
User avatar
pmulcahy
 
Posts: 157
Joined: Sat Mar 09, 2002 10:51 pm
Location: Illinois

Postby l0rdphi1 » Mon Mar 11, 2002 2:36 pm

Im going to start on a proggy when I get home that will edit Coranto's code (which will allow users to fix bugs). Basically it will patch all the known bugs.
User avatar
l0rdphi1
 
Posts: 3590
Joined: Sat Mar 09, 2002 10:03 pm
Location: Pennsylvania, United States of America

Postby Lawrence » Mon Mar 11, 2002 4:44 pm

L0rdPhi1 wrote:Im going to start on a proggy when I get home that will edit Coranto's code (which will allow users to fix bugs). Basically it will patch all the known bugs.


This could be done via an addon ( call it "Fixxer" or whatever ) that would modify the buggy subroutines using $Subs and fix the bugs.
Lawrence
 
Posts: 1524
Joined: Sun Sep 16, 2001 4:24 am


Return to Customization

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

cron