Coranto and it's flaws.

All notes and input on 2.0 Development are herein. <ul><li>Feature requests</li>
<li>Bug Reports</li>
<li>Beta Testing Feedback</li>
<li>Open Dev Discussion</li></ul>

Moderator: Coranto Moderator Team

Coranto and it's flaws.

Postby NitroX_infinity » Sat Sep 29, 2007 12:06 pm

I'm not a developer, I use Coranto on and off (I've worked with NewsPro too) and feel I don't really have a say in this, but I'd like to say what's on my mind.

To get to the point immediately:

TABLES are NOT to be used for layout!
They are meant for presenting information like info about one or multiple items, corporate finances, etc. Basicaly, anything you'd put in a spreadsheet. You use div's and/or css positioning for layout.

CSS is NOT to be placed inside the HTML code!
Semantics; seperating make-up from content. Use of makeup HTML tags like <b>, <font>, <strong>, etc. is DEPRICATED, meaning no sane person uses them anymore. See this link for some info. CSS should be placed in an external file for easy access or in the header of a document (between <style> tags).

Addons should be in a sub-dir of where Coranto is located.
Prevents the Coranto dir from being cluttered.

Som harsh words, I know, but I cannot stress enough that Coranto in it's current form looks like it came from somewhere in the middle of the '90's.
NitroX_infinity

Postby Jackanape » Sat Sep 29, 2007 6:06 pm

All your points are not only well-taken, but are in the process of being corrected...

If you haven't seen 1.31.5 under development yet, you should take a look. The directory structure is much as you recommend.

As for the table-less structure, the community gained the ability to go in and change this only this year...I'm on the second run-through now, removing the tables, and replacing them with divs and lists. There's lots more to be done, and I keep getting pulled away at the height of my effectiveness.